(Yes, the ® is real) ROOK LAND is a highly-illustrated, middle grade (8+) book series. (Although, Scholastic might disagree 🤔)


In reality, ROOK LAND is an original, tailored-to-humanity-branded-product that is the next STAR WARS-meets-The LEGEND of ZELDA intellectual property.


If we’re being completely honest, and please keep up, ROOK LAND is really the super-modern-woo-woo-sci-fi-fantasy™ lovechild of one Alex J. Bell (illustrator, designer, author, creative whatever) and Heather Holmgren (LMFT, relationship therapist, business woman, wife…whatever).

This is everything.

ROOK LAND is an epic 4 story series. We’re on Part II of the first story, and the whole saga is outlined.
It’s ultra-feminism and Super Mario Bros. It’s Comic Sans and Helvetica. Hot dogs and 5 star cuisine.

Apple Computers & Prehistoric Man Woman.

Right now, we’re indie (and, Alex J. Bell hates his social media, but email him if you have any questions): We sell the books (when they’re in stock), here, on our website, and at events. We’re local to Salt Lake City, Utah—so, yearly at the city’s “Comic-Con” event called FanX.) There is a start-and-end to the story — graphic novels, merch, brand, love and more. Our fans have helped shape this giant thing. And we want you in it. 




This is the ROOK LAND outline, from start to finish:



The first story in ROOK LAND. Part I is available now. Part II is in production and the book is planned for a mid-2024 release.

ROOK LAND ➋ Harlow

The upcoming sequel to Pearl and the second book story in ROOK LAND. Harlow – Part I is set for a 2025 release.


➌ Otto is the planned third story of ROOK LAND. More details will be announced at a later date.


Olive – The conclusion.

Whoa, whoa, WHOAH! WAIT. What is ROOK LAND?

Investigative journalist & author, Olive Lilywhite

ROOK LAND is an ongoing series of highly illustrated novels (a hybrid of novel and graphic novel). The story follows journalist (and author) Olive Lilywhite, as she works to stop a mysterious Shadow Group from taking over the Universe. Along the way, other titular characters join the battle. 

Right now, the ROOK LAND roadmap consists of 1-1: PEARL (which is available now (or whenever it’s in stock) and 1-2: PEARL is finishing production with a book release in early 2024. 2: HARLOW is the planned follow up, with the third story being 3: PEARL (more information will be made available on a later date).


All Rook Land books target a Middle-Grade (8+) age appropriate reading level.

Because of their size, individual Saga stories are split into parts. For instance: (Book ❶) Pearl is spread across Pearl: Part I and Pearl: Part II. With images on every page, the Saga books balance art and text for an immersive, easy reading experience. Start the Saga today:



Set in a dying sci-fi/fantasy universe, investigative journalist Olive Lilywhite (a woman!) works to expose and stop a mysterious Shadow Group that threatens to control everything. 

Olive serves as the connecting thread in the Rook Land Saga. Joining her are other titular heroes (mostly heroines, if we’re being honest), the first of which is 12-year-old Pearl Turrane—adopted daughter of a planet leader who is in more trouble than she knows. There’s action, intrigue, love, betrayal…

But the thing that matters most: belief. Belief in the power of storytelling. Belief in others. Belief in yourself. That is what Rook Land is about. You. Will. Love. It.


Cart Your cart 0

No products in the cart.


This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!